Late summer evenings in the garden

I love later summer evenings.

Andy & I in a late summer field. (Photo copyright Sarah Moore Photography)

The crickets hum as brown seed heads of grass wave in the breeze. There’s a coolness to the air – just enough to wear long sleeves. The light is soft and warm, covering the garden with a glow.

Our garden is tucked back away from the road, surrounded by a field and then woods. It’s a peaceful place. We drive up a hill to get to it. As we crest the hill, we look down on our little square of vegetables in the middle of a field of grass, oats, clover and low bush blueberries. I’m always excited to see how it has changed since the last time we were there.

On this evening I kneel in soft clover pathways and pull weeds from the carrots and beets. Finally, after a long day at work, I can let my mind wander. When I’m tired and grumpy, I always feel better by doing a little work and seeing what we have created. I hope I never lose the feeling of gardening as a miracle of nature.

Us in the corn. (Photo copyright Sarah Moore Photography)

Us on our truck. (Photo copyright Sarah Moore Photography)

Leave a Reply

